Dwarfed by the skyscrapers of international financial institutions, the charming Court of Final Appeal in Central was built on reclaimed land using hundreds of Chinese fir-tree piles as foundations. It was opened by Governor Lugard in 1912 and was home to the Supreme Court until 1985 when it was converted into the Former Legislative Council.
Preserved as a historical monument, the two-storey neo-classical building is supported by ionic columns. Its most outstanding feature is the central pediment that contains the statue of the Greek Goddess of Justice, Themis who is blindfolded and holds a scale.
- 8 Jackson Road, Central, Hong Kong Island
- +852 2123 0123